Board of Directors

Bobby Outten, Chairman
County Manager and Attorney, Dare County

  • Justin Whiteside, Vice-Chairman
    Assistant Town Administrator, Ocean Isle Beach
  • Ken Willson, Treasurer
    Client Program Manager, Coastal Protection Engineering, Wilmington
  • Carin Faulkner, Secretary
    Public Information Officer, Village of Bald Head Island
  • Merrie Jo Alcoke
    Attorney, New Bern
  • COL Steven Baker
    Former Commander (R), Wilmington District, USACE
  • Dennis Barbour
    Former Mayor, Carolina Beach
  • COL Benjamin A. Bennett
    Former Commander (R), Wilmington District, USACE
  • Melvin Cooper
    Commissioner, Town of Beaufort
  • Dan Dawson, P.E.
  • Tom Leonard
    Alderman, North Topsail Beach
  • Cliff Ogburn
    Town Manager, Southern Shores
  • Bill Rich
    Special Projects Coordinator, Hyde County
  • Todd S. Roessler
    Attorney, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP, Raleigh
  • Steven G. Smith
    Mayor, Topsail Beach
  • Dawn York
    Coastal Scientist, Moffatt & Nichol, Wilmington

Ex-Officio Board Members

  • Christine Brayman
    USACE, Wilmington District
  • Kevin Hart
    N.C. Division of Water Resources
  • Mike McIntyre
    Former U.S. Rep. N.C. 7th Congressional District, Dir. Govt. Relations, Ward and Smith, P.A.
  • Tancred Miller
    Director, N.C, Division  of Coastal Management

  • James R. Leutze, Ph.D., Chairman Emeritus
    Chancellor Emeritus, UNC-Wilmington
  • Spencer Rogers
    Honorary Member, North Carolina Sea Grant (R)
  • Representative Pat McElraft
    Former North Carolina State Representative
  • Kathleen Riely
    Executive Director